top of page

Vocab reflections 1

This is where I am thinking that we will do our vocabulary reflections. I want you to tell us what you are doing. First vocabulary assignment. Tell me what your preliminary thoughts on vocabulary are? How does vocabulary relate to reading and why should we care about it.


What tools have you been success-full using?


Feel free to respond to your classmates too. Think about what they do and if you have had a similar experience.




50 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Google Ngram

https://books.google.com/ngrams This website can be useful for understanding how frequent a word is compared to another word. Try using...

6 Σχόλια


Hannah Matsushita
Hannah Matsushita
01 Φεβ 2021

My impressions towards vocabulary is that its definitely important! Not just for educational wise but, its super important for the future! Having conversations with others not just in person but over messages and emails to professors will help you feel smarter just knowing all these high level vocabs. Vocabulary is related to reading because, the whole point of reading is to learn more words and help you develop your reading skills. Reading is the start of learning more words. Some tools that I have been using is the dictionaries and something i love to use is the thesaurus. This dictionary helps me use synonyms for words that are similar but possibly has a higher educational level to where it sounds…

Μου αρέσει

Shuhei Tomita
Shuhei Tomita
31 Ιαν 2021

As class mate mentioned before, I think vocabulary is definably important. We can not communicate with native-English people without vocabulary. Moreover, they are based on English, for instance, reading, writing, speaking and listening. My vocabulary skill is not good. So, I need to learn them harder. In my case, I usually learn them from Netflix, or communicating with people because although I used to use kind of vocabulary book, I only learn meanings of vocabulary. I think we are able to learn real pronunciation and situations in which we should use them.


I used to use Quizlet. So, this is first time to use Anki. Quizlet is so useful for me because I was able to add new vocabulary easier…

Μου αρέσει

Tiffany Nakano
Tiffany Nakano
31 Ιαν 2021

Simply, vocabulary is playing the significance rule on learning languages’ field. Since lack of vocabulary definitely makes us not understand what it says, writes, and speaks to us. Also for example, when we try to speak up something, it will be hard to say what we want to say because of our weak vocabulary’s level. It is not limited only to speaking.


Moreover, this kind of situation definitely will happen since I experienced a lot of it especially when I came to the U.S. And even right now, sometimes I feel I need to keep studying vocabulary to make my life easier and better. Thus, I really feel vocabulary is a really important part of developing language skills.

For me,…


Μου αρέσει

Toru Hirano
Toru Hirano
27 Ιαν 2021

I am using Quizlet to memorize vocabulary, and it is super useful because I can learn on my smart phone.

Μου αρέσει

Toru Hirano
Toru Hirano
27 Ιαν 2021

As Jiarong said that I think vocabulary is extremely important. It is because that without vocabulary we cannot understand on the field of speaking, reading, wiring, and listening at all. Since the languages like English is the tool of conversation, we need to learn vocabulary. So, I usually study vocabulary to communicate with people. Besides, verbal communication will lead us to better understanding of each other.

Μου αρέσει
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page