top of page

Forvo- Vocab Reflection 3

Forvo is a very interesting dictionary- You can use it to learn how words are pronounced. Forvo is open access and allows for you to hear the natural pronunciation of almost any word. It even has a variety of accents. Some of the recordings are low quality. However, the amount of words is impressive. How can you imagine using this?


46 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Google Ngram

https://books.google.com/ngrams This website can be useful for understanding how frequent a word is compared to another word. Try using...

5 kommentarer


Shuhei Tomita
Shuhei Tomita
01 feb. 2021

I have never used Forvo before, but heard of it a few times. I often use Oxford English dictionary to learn pronunciation of vocabulary. But, I will continue to use Forvo from this semester.

Gilla

Hannah Matsushita
Hannah Matsushita
01 feb. 2021

I'm not familiar with Forvo at all! I actually like to use merriam-webster.com as a reference because, it helps me understand a-lot of words and the meanings are very accurate! However, I will now on try to use forvo as another reference to help me understand more and learn more the pronunciation!

Gilla

Tiffany Nakano
Tiffany Nakano
31 jan. 2021

Sorry, I never used and heard about this Forvo one:( I was just using dictionary.com one since it is really easy to access and it also provides us the pronunciation of the word. But, from now on, I will try to use Forvo as well to use various tools to develop my pronunciation skill!

Gilla

Toru Hirano
Toru Hirano
27 jan. 2021

I have never heard of this. I use Oxford dictionary and it is very easy to use and understand. But, this time I am going to try Forvo instead of Oxford dictionary. If I got used to it, I would continue using! Btw, I think it is good for me to hear the natural pronunciation.

Gilla

Jiarong Wang
Jiarong Wang
26 jan. 2021

I have known Forvo before, but I don’t use it often. I prefer Oxford English Dictionary or Hanlin Dictionary. Of course I am not saying that Forvo dictionary is not good, but I am not used to using it personally. There are many pronunciations in this dictionary, which may confuse us. If you want to know the different pronunciations in different places, you may take a look at it. But if we want to learn a more popular, more standard, more conventional pronunciation, I think this dictionary is not recommended. Of course, it is a good choice if you use it to look up the meaning of words.

Gilla
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page